First Book Awards for Prose
from the
Native Writers Circle of the Americas

1992Robert L. PereaStacey's StoryPine Ridge Sioux
Melissa Tantaquidgeon ZobelThe Lasting of the MohegansMohegan
William S. Yellow Robe, Jr.The Star Quilter in
Where the Pavement Ends
1993Philip H. Red EagleRed EarthSioux-Klallam
1994Gus PalmerCalling Through the CreekKiowa
1995Glenn J. TwistBoston Mountain TalesCherokee-Creek
1996No award given.
1997Robert J. PerryLife With the Little PeopleChickasaw
D. L. BirchfieldThe Oklahoma Basic Intelligence TestChoctaw-Chickasaw
1998No award given.
1999Evelina Zuni LuceroNight Sky, Morning StarIsleta/San Juan Pueblo
2000Chip LivingstonNaming Ceremony Florida Creek
2001Valerie Red HorseNaturally NativeCherokee
2002Edythe S. HobsonAn Inquest Every SundayArkansas Quapaw
2003Susan SupernawThe Power of a NameCreek/Munsee
2004Kimberly G. RoppoloBack to the Blanket: Reading, Writing, and Resistance for American Indian Literary CriticsCherokee-Choctaw-Creek
2005Mia HeavenerTundra BerriesCentral Yup'ik
2006Judy R. SmithYellowbirdQuinnipiac-Mohican
 Frederick WhiteWelcome to the City of RainbowsHaida
2007Mary LockwoodAttugu Summa/Come and See What It IsMalemuit Inupiaq
2009JudyLee OlivaTe Ata and Other PlaysChickasaw

icon Return to the Storytellers Frontdoor